March 28, 2007

  • Turkey and almond salad in honey orange dressing

    Every bite is different but each has that same crunch of freshly toasted slivers of almond dressed in orange.  It’s funny what you don’t taste, like the pickled beets, unless you grab one with the fork.  Sliced like thick matchsticks, they sat in the dressing.  The beets bled to redden the juice and warm up the orange.  I sliced the fennel thin and added that to the dressing, too, because I was afraid it would not meld well with the other strong flavors.  I wanted it to absorb the citrus and impart that wonderful licorice.  I wanted miso to ground it all.   I put a good teaspoon into the dressing to give it more body but had to add orange juice as a result.  I prefer using vegetables to flavor dressing.

    I just bit into beet, paired with avocado, and along with the nutty crunch came the essence of cilantro.  I don’t like cilantro so I diced it real small with garlic and tossed it into the dressing for a fresh taste of green.  Even I liked this.  I have been hunting and gathering for days, knowing I’d have some turkey breast left over.  When the sun came out I decided it was going into salad.  Everything was sliced uniformly, and it all lay pretty on a bed of green cabbage.  There’s more but I need to go work up the recipe.

Comments (13)

  • I love pickled beets. Okay, I actually I love pickled almost anything! ;) The tease you’ve put out here sounds delicious, like something I might make up for lunch with some leftover chicken. I love cilantro though!

  • Leftover turkey breast can be one of two things in my house, either turkey enchiladas or turkey salad with grapes!  This does sound yummy so I must expand my trying!  marilyn

  • Great great descriptive writing.  Made me hungry

  • This sounds wonderful.  Yours is also the third blog about food that I’ve read this morning. 

  • Everything you seem to make seems as if it would be on a food network show.

  • You ever read a word wrong and that wrong word for some reason or other persists and you don’t read it correctly?  I read this as Turkey and almond salad in honey ostrich dressing.  Now I like ostrich a lot so I skimmed through the recipe looking for the ostrich and there wasn’t any, which was kind of odd given the name of the recipe.  That’s when it dawned on me that it didn’t actually say ostrich, then the recipe made sense!

  • You seriously made me wicked hungry just now. Thanks.

  • Cilantro is the manna for Tex Mex but I don’t care for it either. Good idea chopping it small. This seems like an awesome recipe.

  • Do you have to make me drool with every other post of yours?! I am a cilantro fan, but even without it, this salad sounds heavenly. I was going to wait for a call back from my friend about the lunch she suggested, but I may have to break into my barbecue salmon cups instead. Mmmm.

  • Mmmmm, that salad sounds soooo yummy ! ! !  I had a salad similar to this once, but it also had dried cranberries. If you like dried cranberries, you might try it… I remember that the cranberries went well with the citrus as well as the turkey.

    RYC: Thanks for your comment.   I love blues music!   So now that I read your comment,  I have no choice but to dig out all my blues CDs and see which ones are best for bellydancing. You are so right about it being good for the soul.  It’s relaxing and energizing at the same time. By the way, do you also drum?  Since I’ve never bellydanced anywhere else… I’m wondering if it’s usual for bellydancers to get together for drum circles after the lessons, or at the haflas?  With the groups here, some will drum while others dance to the drumming.  Also, have you tried tribal bellydancing?  I’d like to take a class one of these days.   Also I’m looknig forward to making my own costumes soon.  My husband usually does most of the sewing, but harem clothes might be a project I’d be interested in.

  • yummmmmmmm….*wanders off in search of real food*

  • I have never had beets to my knowledge. I must give them a try. Your food descriptions make them seem a very doable vegetable. It a perfect season for it too. Gotta change my eating habits like yesterday.

  • I’m not a foodie and I don’t like pickled beets much, but WOW! that sounds good!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories