February 6, 2007

  • Intense day. 

    Sam is good.  He came over Friday night after dinner and we watched Mad Money together.  He loved it.  He loved my house, too.  He checked it from top to bottom, speculating about whether he could get his car in the garage.  Yeah.

    Tonight I told him about a club that R took me to once.  These three woman started a social club where they rent the ballroom floor at a hotel on the east side and have a big dance once a month.  Plus, they’ll have dinner dances at a restaurant every so often.  R loved it because the women were great.  The men not so good.   

    Today was the anniversary of his wife’s death and he was a little down but he’s decided he’s ready to date.  He gave me his complete dating history and inquired about mine, saying “You’ve probably had quite a bit more experience.”  I’ve been deterring him ever so gently, telling him about my early years.  When I mentioned dropping acid he didn’t even flinch.  I can read him over the phone and he just kept chattering away.  I think he likes it that I’m a little on the wild side.  He barely knew his wife when they married as she lived far away.  Tonight he steered the conversation dangerously close to my favorite subject:  sex.  Can you imagine anything more fun than being a dating coach?  It’s killing me not to just drive over there and give him a blow job.  Sorry, but I had a large drink a couple hours ago, the first one in probably four months.  I had a beer in December but this was a triple cocktail I made out of an orange, a lemon and absolute vodka I bought for my oldest at Christmas.  Now I just feel tired and I’ve got a headache. 

    Anyway, as I was saying, the guy’s rarin’ to go and it’s tempting because I’m becoming so fond of him but I know it wouldn’t be right.  He’s not the one for me and I don’t want to be responsible for any kind of disappointment.  He’s been through enough.   

Comments (16)

  • Dang. But good to recognize the reality.

    RYC: Yes, not into advertising. 3-d modeling and animation.

  • how do you know there will be disappointment? Why not have the fun…its not like you can have certain aspects of it forever

  • Good for you-restrain yourself and keep trying to freak him out-get his reaction. You don’t want to hurt him…  at some point maybe, just maybe something better will happen- this is not a relationship for sex alone.

    Oh, the memories of tripping on acid and the music that went with it- those were the days…

  • Somehow I don’t think he’d mind the blowjob

  • Yumm!  Very delicious story.  I love the way you tell us your story.  The cocktail drink sounds…tempting. 

  • i was all barely awake, sipping my coffee, when i read about the blow job…hello!  awake now!

  • “speculating about whether he could get his car in the garage”

    hahahahaha. Now that’s a great new euphemism for it.

  • I’m such an innocent sometimes, MyKi Whatzerface figures out the “Speculating about whether he could get his car in the garage”.  I’m just savoring the words here and then you hit us with the blow job, you really need to start publishing, I can’t get enough of your style of writing.  You lead us so gently down paths, jerk us in directions we want to go and tumble us down hills we only dream of.  You need to write and publish so that we can buy!!!   And for god sakes, give the guy roll in the hay, would ya!! marilyn

  • maybe you should be as blunt with him as you are here… of course, guys get hurt more easily than women. I always say that evolution-wise, there are all sorts of logical reasons for women to want to keep men around, but for men, the only reason to stay is love. So they (still) fall harder.

  • Damn.  If nothing else, he’s making for good oogy feelings.  (That is now a word, btw.  Because I like it. lol!)

    I love you…GFW

  • Darn. You know he’s not the one then. I mean if you know it when your headachey and even through such feelings then it’s got to be the steady truth I guess.

    I was hoping to live vicariously for a minute there. Still, I have to respect what you know.

    And I have to say, your urges when drinking are very fun! I think I may have fought a similar one or two.

  • Just drive over and give him a blow job?  Damn, Woman, you’re making the rest of us look bad.  Men all over the internet are looking at their wives/significant others right now and asking why they never offer a drive-by BJ.

  • I understand restraining yourself responsibly because you do afterall want to keep him as a stock buddy, and this wouldn’t be long term but you’d like that to be long term, so…….. great piece of writing, Pru. Gutsy, earthy. To the point. Not a wasted word. Blow job a beauty…!

  • ryc: Whew!  Sometimes I leave those comments then think WTF did I just do?? 

    I do admire your ability to prethink a relationship.  I’m so very tired of finding myself in relationships before I’m aware I want one.  I probably would have acted on that impulse, the one that woke everybody up. But I wouldn’t have thought about it first.  The thoughtful life.

  • and “He barely knew his wife when they married as she lived far away.” — ??  That’s just downright weird.  There must be more to that story.

  • RYC: Yes, there are a few comments I keep playing in my mind. That one you mentioned and the one about my moving in with the future-ex, “observed from several vantage points.” I hadn’t thought, until you commented, that the professional “teacher” thing might be leading to what I see as definitely mixed messages. I was writing it off to the existing girlfriend… but yes, there is something there.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories