February 1, 2007

  • Whatd’ya know, Sam called tonight.  (I wish I could use his real name because it sooo suits him)  Just as I suspected it was because of the laugh.  He didn’t want to go there, and he didn’t admit it.  He acted like everything was fine but I pushed it, making sure he knew I wasn’t laughing AT him.  I could tell he’d had a talk with himself, licked his wounds and made himself call me.  The tone he used, saying he knew he was ”kinda funny” was consoling, like he’d nursed himself through plenty of hurts in his life.  I wonder if kids teased him in school.  He has an odd speech pattern and a real high-pitched voice when he gets excited.  It kind of reminds me of Truman Capote, except he doesn’t sound gay. 

    I could tell he didn’t want to go there because for as long as he could keep it going he controlled the conversation.  I asked him if he was working off a list.  First he had stock questions, to which I had all the answers.  I have to admit I need to work on my ego.  There are very few areas where I just can’t help myself.  I feel like Jim Cramer in the lightening round.  That’s where viewers call in with a stock and he tells them whether to buy, sell, or hold.  Then he moved to what jobs I’d had, wanting to make sure I’d worked ten quarters so I could get social security.  Then he wanted to know what I do for exercise.  He knows I don’t get any now that I’m not dancing so I wasn’t sure why he asked.  I walk my dog some. 

    About that time I had to leave for class.  I’m kind of glad we had a time out.  Figuring I might not hear from him for a while, I let it go.  But then he started talking about landscaping his back yard this spring and I got all excited.  I could take him to church.  I could go dancing with him.  He likes to cook.  He’s really fun to be around.  I feel like God planted everything I wanted in my path and I’m bitching about his sense of humor. 

     

Comments (20)

  • The stop trying to find thigns wrong with all the people (men) you meet…and just try an enjoy what they do offer you…you never know if they are thinking the same about you…and then everyone misses out. No point in that. :)

  • Funny, ‘working off a list’- when dh calls, I tell him to write up a list of all that he’s done so he has something to talk to me about. Works better! Lol.. so is he coming over on Friday? Treat him like you would a gf…if he’s going to like you, he’s going to like you best for being honestly YOU. You are a woman who I admire so much.  Sexy, educated, talented and knows stocks? What man can resist you? Hugs for Sam being teased, most likely.

  • A list is good….Cool!

  • sometimes just a deep relaxing breath can turn things on a dime…

  • You know Pru…we have nothing to lose and everything to gain by remaining open, having fun and riding the boat as far as it will take us.

    I  wrote to Mr. J. and I realized I don’t want to close the door on anything right now.  He is planning a trip here in March…and I look forward to spending time with him….perhaps I need someone more low key to balance me out.  I do wonder if he is strong enough for me…he is so emotional.  But maybe that is good too, I think more…he feels more. Hmm? 

    It seems we are always having adventures.

    Blessings,  Ashes

  • My spiritual teacher once told me that I had a male soul, Dave has a female soul.  I’m tough, I don’t always like it, but I am, sometimes Dave is too emotional for me, but when I think of what she said, it helps me realize my viewing point.  Maybe you are male and he is female..that’s my guess. 

    I love that you’re brailing your way around this whole guy thing, makes for interesting reading !! marilyn

  • A new approach. Enjoy his company, but learn from it, too People I don’t *quite* get along with often teach me the most, often about myself.

  • This is a happy post.  I am happy that you and him iron things out.

  • ride along and see where the train carries you. either way you learn from looking out the windows.

  • Did you say “picky?” Cheers

  • The reason why my post sounds so fearful is because God is to be feared. Too often, churches preach of God’s love and grace. But the one-sided message not the whole truth and will lead people to think of Him as some sort of cosmic teddy bear. But God’s wrath is equally real. It is suppose the motivation for reader’s to reflect upon their lives and to change whatever needs to be changed.

    About investing, I am still doing so. I am not writing as much about it because I have written almost everything I can about the fundamentals. My turnover is really low and the stocks I wrote about, I still have them and they’re giving me good dividends. FYI, I’m thinking of getting more COP.

  • Still getting to know each other. His humor may come out eventually, when he’s more comfortable. He sounds driven. That dancing could relax him enough to laugh a bit more.
    He is intriguing.

    I can’t help doing that quick answer thing sometimes. It has to be a topic I am in love with though. I get like a kid with it. Oy.

  • This is nice to read. Still plenty to be worked out, either as friends or other, but still interesting. RYC: You remember that your daughter and his might have crossed paths in school. I’d REALLY be interested in any knowledge, if there’s any to be had.

  • I did not see your name on my subscriber list maybe that’s why you did not receive my new post.  But I will not let you forget me:)

  • Right now I’m having more than a rough time in the involvement I got into, and I should email you, but I’m still rather reeling with the revelations of this week… so this sounds so beautifically innocent, delightful, tenuous and gentle and like it could be quite, quite wonderful. Sometimes we need to slow down and enjoy the scenery. It may not expose us on the high ridges or get the adrenaline pumping, but it can be very warm and comforting and sometimes this is just what we need. You’ll put a little excitement into his life too – which he probably needs. xo

  • Sounds like it’s going very well.

    I’m glad for you.

  • sounds boring as hell and I’m sorry for you.  Oh dear, did I just type that?  I dunno, what do you see in him that I’m missing?  Hey, you know I don’t really have a clue what’s going on, it was just my reaction, after reading twoberry’s comment. When I’ve finally reread all this and feel more in touch, well, by then you’ll probably have moved on, or be totally involved, or on another hiatus! 

  • each to his own

  • i’m with ira!

  • “I feel like God planted everything I wanted in my path and I’m bitching about his sense of humor. “I know that feeling ,it may sound sacriligious
    but I think the creator can be a prankster,,, your insight here is your path….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories