February 8, 2007

  • Goodness, Myki, by now you should know, especially when I’ve been drinking, that I’m not clever enough to be using euphemisms.  He stood in the garage and lifted up the door, wondering aloud if his car was too tall.  Even the next morning when I reread it, I didn’t pick up on that. 

    I want to give you an update — He made me dinner last night — but it’s getting to the point where I don’t feel as comfortable writing about him; I’m losing the distance.  He would make such a great character, though.   I should ask permission.  Normally, guys don’t mind. 

    I taught him to do the swing after dinner.  He has some great music.  AND he’s got great rhythm.  I told him he was my new dance partner. 

    He’s acting much more sure of himself.  The high pitch is gone and the tentative tone has been replaced by a more mellow, authoritative voice.  And he knows how to take a dishwasher apart.

    It sure is nice to have someone to talk to at 6:30 in the morning when you’re not sure whether to buy or sell.

Comments (14)

  • dinner and 6:30am…my my… where is this going? Does it matter? Just flow with it.   fwiw, I didn’t think that about the garage but it could be a funny euphemism!

  • sorry, but it was too good to pass up.

    and seriously, Prudy… he knows how to take the dishwasher apart?

    (I’m beginning to think you have long-term “designs” on this man… and you two’s story so far, would sooooo fit the beginning plot of any romantic comedy: initial non-romantic-attraction, crossed signals, growing friendship — all ya need now is a plot twist.)

  • Ahh, I love “love story” especially happy one.    

  • The taking a dishwasher apart goes in the pro column.  The great rhythm goes in the pro column.  The checking out the garagre to make sure his “car” isn’t too “tall” goes in the con column, but only if the car fits with room to spare…

  • RYC: Sorry about that, I had a protected post up which expressed a lot of frustration and other such “stuff” –then I made it private cause I’m so tired myself of reading that shit from me–I didn’t want others to muddle through it.  A few people had read it, and that last comment was towards them. 

    Ha, I thought Miki was right on with her interpretation too!  Actually was thinking about it this morning and what a good euphemism it was – his car in my garage!  Well, you know you’ve created a new trendy expression now.  I’ll be wondering if his car would fit in my garage way too often in the upcoming days!!

  • At least I wasn’t asleep at the wheel to miss your pun, since there was no pun intended!!

    I’m loving the feel of this Pru, seriously this might just be the one…marilyn

  • Dancing Feeling more secure about himself I’m so happy that things seem to be smoothing out a bit more. Usually *I’m* the shy one in a relationship, so hearing about him being awkward always made me nervous. Love to hear your updates

  • This is nice. Sometimes you just need to give things a bit of time to gel and get to know each other without the romance, as I believe you have told me in the past! ;) It seems you like him more now than before, or in a better way. RYC: Yes, I wish I’d been faster on my feet to ask about the “vantage points” comment. And yes, I liked the smile comment too! It’s mututally true. I don’t know anyone else who makes me laugh as much.

  • It is just nice to have a voice that talks back, and a person to share meals with. Communion.

  • RYC: Forgot to answer. It’s down near Santa Cruz. Natural Bridges or something like that.

  • Oh you are keeping me guessing. The voice has changed in you both I guess. Dancing with him might be a wonderful thing. I know it would be a cool thing to read about.

    And now i am so curious about whether or not he is a good cook!

  • isn’t there something engaging about seeing someone new?

  • I like the point at which we throw rationality out, being good, sane, responsible… and, well, enjoy ourselves. It doesn’t happen very often. But it’s always exciting when it does…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories