August 1, 2009

  • There is trouble on the foster-care front.  Not that I care, particularly.  My little sister (10 years younger) gave my mother a pedicure last week — It gives me the creeps just thinking about touching her “hooves” as my sister referred to them.  My mother was so out of it she barely opened her eyes once. 

    I guess she filed her nails and washed and lotioned her feet and Lois remained comatose the whole half hour.  My sister made some crack about spending an hour driving all the way over there and my mother being too drugged up to even notice.  Well, the Romanian woman whose business it is was so upset she called my brother, assuring him she would never give Lois anything not prescribed by the doctor.

    My brother kind of likes that she’s drugged up because it makes his job so much easier while we wait for the conservatorship to go through.  He needs her to sign checks.  He doesn’t want her to know she’s paying for this place so we put up the money for the first month.    She’s so high she’s hallucinating and my brother just pretends like he sees the stuff, too. 

    I agree with my sister that we should get the doctor to prescribe something not so intense.  My brother is over at that sister’s house tonight having dinner because his girlfriend is in Greece for a month.  I hope the drug thing doesn’t become an issue. 

    Meanwhile the sister who drinks vodka has not been back to see Lois once, that we know of.  We sort of took her off the email list, though.  I guess the court visitor — They interview the petitioner and family, along with the respondent to make sure everybody is on board with the appointed guardian and conservator.  The woman had a chat with Robi… and got the impression she’d been drinking.  Two of us in our interviews mentioned the possibility when the woman brought up her unusual responses, saying Robi…’s tone was most like my mother’s (referring to the Queen of England act).

    Anyway, that’s boring.  Let’s talk about my trip to Alaska.  Wow, I just scrolled up and realized this is already too long.  Later, alligators.

Comments (4)

  • it has to be very difficult to cope with all this day after day! so… tell us about your alaska trip! :)

  • When they first admitted my mom she was given such a high dose of Ativan that it nearly placed her in a coma and truly she was never herself again. marilyn

  • If this is too long I have some serious problems with my writing.

  • Alaska!?

    That must be a weird balance. Getting her lucid but then getting her to be agreeable. Sheesh.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories