February 16, 2008

  • Man, I am back with a vengeance.  All I want to do is write.  And read your comments.  I seem to be hungry for them.  For the first time, ever, I stuck a new title on an old post and resubmitted it.  Then I remembered the comments I lost.  Woops.  Actually, I wanted to give more of you a chance to share your favorite things but I realize that takes time. 

    About my love life.  Just typing that is exciting; that I might be having one.  The first guy, who I really like, just called and we are going to dinner tomorrow night.  The reason he hasn’t called, he said, is that he’s been entertaining his brother, who is leaving tomorrow to go visit their father. 

    The second guy and I went for a walk today.  I met him at the golf course and then he drove me to this very touristy park you have to pay to get in.  There were lots of ducks and ponds and beautiful trees.  Kinda not my thing, the ducks not the trees.  It was going fine, though, until we got back to the car to go get some coffee and he backed into something, taking out his left taillight.  I felt so bad for him but he shrugged it off and we went for coffee.

    It was so noisy in there I suggested we walk around the neighborhood and he seemed fine but towards the end I could tell he was thinking about his car.  I am very comfortable with him but I’m not interested in him, like I don’t ask him questions about who he is.  I don’t find him attractive yet I feel sexual around him and there is a lot of touching, mostly on my part.  I mean like bumping into him when we’re walking or touching his arm when I’m drawing his attention to something.  He takes really good care of himself and seems to be a wonderful person.  Like he was happy to pay to get in, wanting to support the place.  I hate the way he dresses and I don’t like the pinched way his face looks but when he smiles he looks like a happy little kid.  He’s a good guy.

    But the first guy I can’t get enough of.  I love his voice and the way he talks.  I like the way he thinks and I LOVE the way he dresses.  But he spends summers elsewhere and he seems fussy about his house.  He has a really nice car that he takes great pride in, which, to me, screams weird ego stuff.  But maybe that’s just a guy thing. Tomorrow night should be fun, though. 

Comments (4)

  • What a great profile photo of you Pru. I was always wary of guys that take too much pride in their cars or looks… It’s nice to see you back with a vengeance.

  • Sunday morning
    Good to read you Pru
    Hope you don’t “back” into anything in a relationship
    I must say that I love the layout of our blog. It is easy to read and that is cool for an old man like me.
    So many put up such fancy layouts but I can’t read them. Enjoy your dinner out.

  • So nice to have tons of attention….from two (not one) guy! Me? My friend from Denver is going to arrive next month I believe.

  • Pru,

    Don’t be too hasty to judge.  (Yeah, like you have never done this before, huh?)

    If my first impressions are reasonably favorable and there are no show stoppers (like the woman who casually asked me over salad, on a first date,  if I saved my urine), then I give a new relationship three chances.  And I do argue that is not a sports metaphor for three stirkes your out.  I am not a fan of sports.

    I went so far as to travel from Chicago to Springfield, Missouri three time last year to explore a relationship with a very interesting woman I met on line.  We remain friends, but I will not be returning to the Ozarks.  I just wasn’t sure until that third weekend.

    On other occasions, it was not until the second or third meeting that things really clicked and a long term relationship ensued.

    OK, that’s advice from Ask Jay, Guidance for the Love Lorn, who, by the way, is also uncommitted presently.  lol

    Peace, Jay

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories