April 1, 2007

  • Praise God, Hallelujah, and Holy Fucking Shit; I might have met my next dance partner.  I even like his name.  I like everything about him.  He’s the right height.  I’m too excited to prioritize.  He’s happy.  He has good rhythm.  He is not self-conscious and doesn’t care how many people are on the dance floor.  He is ELEGANT.  He’s sensual, and he has style.  Please, God, make him available. 

    It’s a curse to be such an optimist.  There’s a reason this guy is all the way across town, by himself.  He said he was to meet friends but they never showed up, and that might have been two women.  But he likes to dance, and he’d be hard-pressed to find a better partner.  I couldn’t believe the way I was acting.  I told him he was the perfect height but what I was thinking, too, was that he was the perfect fit.  On the slow dances, at first, just to make it easier to follow someone new, I was getting in pretty close.  A few times I inadvertently rubbed up against something I shouldn’t have. 

    I liked the smell of him and all his answers.  He has a unique style of speech, too, so conversation was captivating.  Lots of times if someone can do the swing they don’t freeform.  This guy is comfortable either way and good at both, better than good.  He’s in perfect shape, too, so up for every dance.  Could it get any better?  Oh, and he’s attractive and he doesn’t drink and he doesn’t smoke and he went home at midnight.  In other words he takes good care of himself.

    What has me curious, and what made me more aggressive was his passive nature.  He kept going to the bathroom, which involved leaving the barstool and walking past my table.  It was the only path he could have taken, and the first time he checked me out.  The second time he smiled.  The third time he said, “how are you?”   He looked familiar so I panicked and thought he was this guy I went out with a couple times before I figured out how strange he was.  So the last time I said, “Do I know you?  Are you a friend of lsdfjslfj’s?” to which he answered, “No but I wish I were.”  Then at the break he came over and we talked and he invited me to join him at the bar.  But even that I instigated by saying I absolutely HATED coming to these things alone but that my dance partner had fallen in love.  I told him to pull up a chair and that’s when he suggested I join him.  That’s what I mean by being unusually aggressive.  Plus, when I asked if he danced and he said, “yes,” and I said, “swing?” and he said, “yes,” I said, “Then you must dance with me.”  I could hardly believe myself. 

    I really like being able to run with it like that; you know, when someone can deal with a strong personality.  Like on the dance floor when we weren’t doing the swing.  It was too fast to slow-dance to and I watched the way he moved.  Damn, he’d be great in bed is what I was thinking.  He kind of purses his lips in a smile and just feels the music, totally unselfconscious.  There’s a real lightness about him; I mean transparency, like he’s not carrying burdens.  On the dance floor when he twirls me and when I was watching him dance alone, it looked like he was close to God.  You know what I mean?  Close to the source.

    Okay, there’s only one thing I found to worry about.  You know there had to be something.  A guy who pees that many times is a good candidate for prostate cancer, don’t you think? 

Comments (19)

  • As for the peeing all the time, I have to do that when I’m nervous, let’s hope that’s what it is.

    This feels so right Pru, I’m seriously thinking this could go somewhere!! 

    We must be a lot alike, I’m that forward or aggressive when I spot the right person! marilyn

  • Anyone could die at any time for any reason. Just keep to the positive, you just met the guy, geeze :)

  • So exciting! And maybe he was going to the bathroom so often to check you out and chat with you. Did he go a lot *after* you started dancing, too? If so, you may have a point. If not, I think I win

  • This is an April fool joke right? You meet a guy with potential?

  • Is this fiction or your true story.  More story please!  I think it is a good thing you say he must dance with you.  It sounds very proper!  About the pee, I do not know.  Maybe he drinks a few mugs of beer.

  • It is a great real life story!  He is a very good dancer!

  • good luck my girl, good luck indeed

  • He went to pee so often so he could see you more and check you out. He does not have a prostate problem he has a Pru thing going on. Nice! Given the day you choose to present this, I am holding my breath. You are skilled enough to be convincing in every way. But yay! How cool and natural. I hope digits were exchanged. The conversation seemed just perfect and your feelings were so great. yeehhaw and hot dam!

  • I appreciate your comments on the F_G blog site. Check out my own post if you are interested in my thoughts on the matter. The short story is that I enjoy F_G for it’s Community feeling – a community of thinkers, writers, and readers. The whole negativity issue surrounding recent events is a blip on an otherwise great run of posting and commenting.

    Other: I like your dog profile pic. Also interesting in knowing if you have a specific recipe for your turkey almond salad, or if you threw together what already exisited in the fridge. I’m always looking for a new twist on dinner.

  • Wishing you great fun as this moves forward….

  • RYC: Thanks for the recipe!! And I wonder about your font comment because once or twice others have made the same comment, yet on my home and work computer monitors the font seems okay to me. I wonder if screen size settings have something to do with this, and that Xanga settings don’t automatically adjust between screen sizes. If I make my font any larger it looks ginormous on my screen. Very strange. I wish I could fix this for everyone across the board. I think I’m using Ariel, too. I’ll have to see what my page looks like on my husband’s laptop. Hmm. Thanks for stopping by….

  • Okay, also forgot to ask: is Aji-Mirin wine a red?

  • I am dying to know what the answer to the peeing many times turns out to be. It all sounds great! I missed the part about your last dance partner falling in love, I will have to go back and read up. I also put photos up about our new dog – so check it out!

  • Wow, you have been out of it.

    If the guy walked by my table more than once, I would have said hello and smiled.  Then he would have had a reason to stop faking trips to the potty to check you out. 

    Hugs! and have fun!

  • Ballroom dancing?

  • prostate cancer?
    I’m thinking diabetes.

  • i’m thinking… he needed an excuse… :) hope he’s the perfect dance partner!

  • LOL, he sounds great!  :)

  • My bf who is 50 has just been diagnosed with it. You never know.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories