Month: April 2005

  • I seem to have left. 

  • It’s not ravioli I’m trying to make it’s a Chinese thing.  I got mushrooms, ginger, carrots, onion, cabbage; stuff like that.  And I should probably put in a little chicken.  I don’t know what binds it together.  Anyway you place a dollop of that on the bottom and lay the top square on, and for some reason the edges seal with a little water and some pressure.  I’m going to try steaming them.  I have some plum sauce I can spread on the wrappers.  Yum, doesn’t it sound good?


  • This is going to sound bi-polar, and I’m so not, but I had an A-one day today.  I got up early and didn’t have coffee (points), got straight into the shower.  Then I had tea while the curling iron heated up.  I’m probably the only one who still uses one of those.  My hair turned out great (points).  It doesn’t seem like such a pain in the ass if you do it all the time.  Then I got on the scale (points) and got dressed.  My pants fit better (points) but I’m still not into my jeans.


    Sorry, I’ll quit with the points but I gave myself a bunch because I drove all the way over to Beaverton to plant flowers for my sister.  She just bought a house and doesn’t know anything about flowers.  Let’s just say we’re pretty different.  This is the younger one I’m talking about.  So then I met my youngest daughter at the mall and we did some shopping for Florida, for her.  She has had to take her dreads out, I guess they were coming undone.  So it’s such a pleasure to see her beautiful shiny hair again.  But the big thrill was to see her in skirts and pretty tops.  Florida is the only time she dresses like a girl.  She found two skirts and four shirts that looked great on her so she was friendlier than she has been lately.


    Then I came home and ate Brussels sprouts and this turkey sausage and pasta thing I made the day before, which was superb.  And after that I did the grocery shopping.  I swear to you I am going to make the thing with the squares that you stuff and steam.  Or I guess you can put them in boiling water, or deep-fat fry them.  You know what I’m talking about?  Where you put the stuff in the middle, put another square on top and crimp the edges?  I have purchased them too many times to count and then thrown them away because I didn’t know how to do it.  Not this time!


    Here’s the real reason I’m happy.  I made a friend.  At least there’s a possibility of one.  She is in my weight-watcher’s group.  Her high school reunion is coming up and ever since she moved here from California she has put on weight.  Like me she doesn’t know anyone over here, so she’s up for some company.  She’s married and younger but she’s available in the afternoons and suggested we go do something together.  I really like her eyes and she’s funny.  She seems like a good person and she’s a smart-ass.  I like her attitude a lot.  She and I took over the meeting last week.  I hate writing choppy like that but how else do you gush?  I’m telling you there is potential here.  I like everything about her and she likes me too.


    The other thing I’m pleased about is the A I got on my story from last term. I finally picked it up last night after class. 


    Oh, and after that dreadful night I got on the phone the next day and called some people so my calendar is full.  I need to get out of here more.  Tomorrow I’m meeting Anthony.  He’s trying to line me up for something but I can’t tell what.  I think it’s nurse.  But that’s fine with me.  I owe him big time.  I better go clean in case we come back here.


     

  • I’m getting drunk.  In fact hold on, I’m going for another beer.  Fucking Budweiser, that’s what it’s come to.  Some friends came by on Saturday and the guy was so antsy he went and got beer while she and I talked.  Then he went out back and played with the puppy.  That’s what I am tonight, antsy.  Everything was fine until I realized that I couldn’t go to my sister’s tomorrow night for dinner.  I had forgotten the fiction class has started back up.  About that time I remembered I was supposed to be reading this book by Faulkner.  The only thing I’ve read by him I loved but the teacher made it sound like he was difficult.  So I hop in my car thinking it was around 7:00.  I’m half-way there when I remember my car is an hour behind.  The library is closed.  Who knows where a bookstore is over here, not me.  I can’t imagine there is one.  I don’t think anyone over here reads.  I think they watch TV and drink beer.  I’m halfway there.


    At least the youngest one is here.  She walked in and saw the beer in my hand and wondered what was going on.  I had some music on and was trying to get in the mood to dance.  Some kind of physical activity is sorely needed.  I paced around my kitchen for a while, round and round the island.  I think I need to get laid.  I went out to the garage and was looking for a possible, forgotten box with hair stuff and jewelry.  I’m missing a bunch of bellydance jewelry and clips and things for long hair.  Really what I want is those rollers I used to use.  I looked pretty damn good today, if I do say so myself.  It didn’t take that long.  If I just had someplace to go every morning I could get a habit going.  Or if I had a fucking boyfriend.  Good thing I’ve given up on that.  I haven’t seen any possible candidates since I moved here.  Actually there was a black guy, looked like a Portland State professor, who was getting in his car downtown.  Nice suit, glasses, genteel, comfortable, right age.  I stared, he smiled.  I didn’t mean to stare, he just was such a surprise.  Then there was a guy at lunch with Teresa.  Except he was too old.  He had pretty cool white hair, though.  It was punked out and he was elegant.  Too much attitude, though.  God, I hate being eccentric and old.  The field narrows so.


    The rain has finally gotten to me.  You can’t live in Portland without enduring this month-long river of rain in April.  It’s harder this year with that tease-of-a-month we had in March.  I just want to be someplace else, someplace warm.  I want to be somone else, someone thin.  And today, on my way to the hospital, I actually fantasized about being published.  I’m drunk so I can put that out there.  It’s just that I read so much about intention and praying and working towards your goals and at some point you have to step up and say you want it; that you’re going to go for it.  I imagined myself being interviewed on TV.  I know this is embarrassing for you but I don’t give a shit.  It’s my blog and I can be as embarrassing as I want. 


    I wonder if the reason I’m getting drunk is because I did a stupid thing today and subconsciously I’m freaking out about it.  Remember that incident with my tribal teacher and the reviews I wrote?  And it’s funny because I was just thinking about ego last night because of something Brenda wrote on Denmark guy’s blog.  I even saved it somewhere to think about.  Anyway, just when I thought I was getting a handle on my ego I go and open my big mouth.  I just erased a bunch of ego-ridden stuff.  Suffice-it-to-say I blew my under-cover approach to the second book.  Maybe she’ll keep her mouth shut. 


    Have you noticed all the hyphenated words I seem to want to use lately?  What’s up with that.  I’m rambling.  Enough.


     


  • I know I’m supposed to be working on the other thing.  And I did, this morning.  I started it over, like jerjonji  said, and got about halfway through.  But I’m just so inspired I wanted to share this.


    I went to lunch and the movies with Teresa.  The place where we usually eat is right next to the theatre.  It’s just a trendy deli but the food is great and the people watching is even better.  We got a bowl of split pea soup and I could see the women who work at Nordstrom come filing in for take-out.  And there were some older women in their 60′s or 70′s.  I can never tell, when they’ve had work done.  Their hair is perfect and they have great clothes.  If you knew what the women looked like around here you’d understand why this was such an uplifting experience.


    Because I’m going on this trip in May, I’m trying to pull myself together.  The weight watchers is going better now that I’ve started writing down what I eat.  Duh.  I don’t know why I was resistant to that.  And I’ve managed to quit snacking at night.  Anyway, after the movies I took a bathing suit in to be fitted for prostheses and while I was there I looked around.  I am loving the new skirts.  You know those tiered, hippyish-looking ones.  I bought a fun A-line, floral skirt which looked like Palm Springs.  But I really want to make a skirt like I saw, with three kinds of material and some lace peeking out from beneath the bottom tier.


    After that I went down to look at shoes.  I love seeing pretty young things in pointed-toed heels but I just have no interest in trying to navigate the street in those.  Plus I wear a size 10.  You add that long point and we’re talking gunboats.  But I did see a lot of pretty ballet-type shoes.  I love all the beading or the ones with the strap across. 


    What’s got me jazzed is that there are new styles out that I can relate to.  I stopped at this coffee shop, on my way home.  They have a bunch of magazines in there so I read those to really get my juices going.  I felt like I was about 17.  Remember when you imagined what it would be like to have your own place and your own money and your new image?  I used to spend an exorbitant amount of time fantasizing about clothes and hair and make-up when I was in high school.  Every once in a while a season comes along now with a look I like, and as I flipped through the pages I started to think about how great I could look if I just styled my hair and put on some of those clothes in the back of my closet.  I should do my nails and wear those strappy sandals.  I’m going to drag out all my jewelry and start wearing it. 


    I tried my jeans on and I can almost zip the biggest pair.  I think the most exciting thing about losing weight is that there is hope.  I can look any way I want.  All it takes is time.  God gave me plenty to work with and I’ve just been lazy.  Shame on me.


    Ever since I stayed at “Kate’s” house I have taken more pride in mine and it just feels better here.  My weight-watcher’s mentor had a scarf around her neck and it really set her hair and face off nicely.  I think I’m going to have to look into that.


     

  • Go to Read:  Your Subscriptions and click on Protected.  Geez, I’m starting to sound desperate.  And thank you Onigiriman.  This gives me an idea of where people are coming from, what their understanding and impression of bellydance is.  Now I know I need to write a chapter explaining the art form.  But what I am most concerned about is the tone.  As a narrator I don’t want to color it.  And the post I have begun and not posted yet is sounding venomous.  I can post it here but I could never let another dancer read it.  Or could I?  As I let my hair down I see that I have some anger and nothing spoils a piece faster than a negative spin, unless it’s something like la_chatte_gitane‘s letter to the cable company.  Maybe what I said about negativity isn’t true, but I want to come from a positive place.

  • People!  I woke up and had no comments.  Count ‘em:  0.  Look, if you don’t like it tell me.  If it seems like I shouldn’t be exposing — If you think that I am stepping over some moral boundries, say so.  Haven’t I always been straight-up with you?  I need to know what your reaction is.  I mean I figure the writing is okay, it’s the subject matter that has me worried.  And the slant.  I’m worried about how I sound because you know I’m — I’m still struggling with my departure from that world and maybe I — As a narrator I worry about imposing myself.  Please. 

  • I decided to do the following as a protected post.  I am leaving out personal stuff so I hope it doesn’t sound too dry.  And I’m writing this against my better judgment.  It doesn’t feel like it’s time but I’m afraid to wait. 

  • brendaclews  wrote something today which I don’t understand.  I didn’t understand when she wrote it, and I don’t understand why I am not writing about Seattle; why I’m wanting to tuck the memories away.  I’m afraid something will be lost in the wait.


    I have never been one for cameras.  And neither was my husband so our children’s growth, rather than being videotaped, was captured, sporadically, at births, birthday parties, and first days of school.  Once they were old enough for their own cameras they took lots of pictures.  Over the years I have accumulated albums-full, all over at Henry’s.  I took only the  pictures I’d framed.


    I find my most precious memories come to me for no reason.  In an instant, in a flash, I am transported to watching the sun rise, on LSD.  I’ll suddenly remember the smell of those sweet peas they grew up the side of their restaurant down by the bay in Wheeler.   I can smell the incense as I recall sitting in my Sunday best, a stranger in a church, weeping over the beauty of the stained-glass windows and choir.  In Seattle, I was taken back to the night Marcie and I, with some of her friends, jumped in a cab and went racing through the city.  My head thrust out the window, hair flying on a hot New York night; it was freedom.  We have lots of pictures of that trip, but the thrill of the ride was my most precious memory.


    I have done some crazy things over the years but the older I get the gladder I am.  Because it’s those memories that make writing easier.  And it will be those memories that make my golden years a blessing.  There are so many things to learn and do and I want to cram them all in.  But suddenly, writing about them –It feels like it might take the magic away.

  • My fiction class is in 40 minutes but I just sat down to read your comments.  janedivided talked about having to process and that’s what’s going on.  Something must have happened in Seattle that I don’t understand the repurcutions of because I’m walking around in a daze.  I can’t focus.  I barely got all my tax stuff done in time and was having to write verbatum what the accountant said as she rattled off all the shit I had to fax, in addition to the workbook I completed.  Plus my friend Anthony took me to dinner last night and we came back and sat in front of the fire, talking like old times.  I can tell his girlfriend has pretty much dumped him, the way he’s being overly friendly.  He’s driving back up tomorrow and I’m taking him to his MRI because in order to do it he has to take two valium.  So I’m driving.  He’s claustrophobic is the problem.  If anyone has any mind-altering tricks to deal with that, let me know.


    I should scoot.  I just wanted to say, “hi,” and that everything is…..pending.  Like something’s up but I’m not sure what.

Recent Posts

Categories