April 11, 2005


  • I know I’m supposed to be working on the other thing.  And I did, this morning.  I started it over, like jerjonji  said, and got about halfway through.  But I’m just so inspired I wanted to share this.


    I went to lunch and the movies with Teresa.  The place where we usually eat is right next to the theatre.  It’s just a trendy deli but the food is great and the people watching is even better.  We got a bowl of split pea soup and I could see the women who work at Nordstrom come filing in for take-out.  And there were some older women in their 60′s or 70′s.  I can never tell, when they’ve had work done.  Their hair is perfect and they have great clothes.  If you knew what the women looked like around here you’d understand why this was such an uplifting experience.


    Because I’m going on this trip in May, I’m trying to pull myself together.  The weight watchers is going better now that I’ve started writing down what I eat.  Duh.  I don’t know why I was resistant to that.  And I’ve managed to quit snacking at night.  Anyway, after the movies I took a bathing suit in to be fitted for prostheses and while I was there I looked around.  I am loving the new skirts.  You know those tiered, hippyish-looking ones.  I bought a fun A-line, floral skirt which looked like Palm Springs.  But I really want to make a skirt like I saw, with three kinds of material and some lace peeking out from beneath the bottom tier.


    After that I went down to look at shoes.  I love seeing pretty young things in pointed-toed heels but I just have no interest in trying to navigate the street in those.  Plus I wear a size 10.  You add that long point and we’re talking gunboats.  But I did see a lot of pretty ballet-type shoes.  I love all the beading or the ones with the strap across. 


    What’s got me jazzed is that there are new styles out that I can relate to.  I stopped at this coffee shop, on my way home.  They have a bunch of magazines in there so I read those to really get my juices going.  I felt like I was about 17.  Remember when you imagined what it would be like to have your own place and your own money and your new image?  I used to spend an exorbitant amount of time fantasizing about clothes and hair and make-up when I was in high school.  Every once in a while a season comes along now with a look I like, and as I flipped through the pages I started to think about how great I could look if I just styled my hair and put on some of those clothes in the back of my closet.  I should do my nails and wear those strappy sandals.  I’m going to drag out all my jewelry and start wearing it. 


    I tried my jeans on and I can almost zip the biggest pair.  I think the most exciting thing about losing weight is that there is hope.  I can look any way I want.  All it takes is time.  God gave me plenty to work with and I’ve just been lazy.  Shame on me.


    Ever since I stayed at “Kate’s” house I have taken more pride in mine and it just feels better here.  My weight-watcher’s mentor had a scarf around her neck and it really set her hair and face off nicely.  I think I’m going to have to look into that.


     

Comments (9)

  • forget the scarf… keep working at the weight thing and show off your neck. Necks are very sexy, y’know? And God knows I should be paying attention to what I eat as well. And I am a horrible midnight snacker. Glad to hear you cut it out. That’s actually pretty HUGE! I’d bet if I stopped eating potato chips and cookies and cshews after midnight, I’d probably lose 5 lbs in one month! Egads! And it’s okay to feel seventeen. I mean, we all deserve to feel like that sometimes, no? Ok, ok, maybe I feel like that too often.

  • Sounds like an awesome time.  You sound uplifted, energized.  I’ve been eating decently for three days and am energized myself.  My aunt gave me some of her old clothes and i want to look good in them.  I won’t eat latenight anymore.  With the sun up before I am now, it’s easier to get out of bed, eat breakfast, all that good stuff.  Be well, lady!  You deserve it!

  • Sounds like a grand day all around. Love the focus. Sometimes, we lose sight of what’s right in front of us (or ON us!). I’ve been pleasantly focused on what I have lately, rather than what I want.

  • Sounds like a wonderful day, all round. And those skirts! Yeah, go for it… xo

  • I went a little crazy at the dollar store the other day.  I love skorts! lol  And I was tickled to see something I never thought I’d see again…terry cloth!  In darling, little, strapless dresses!  I can’t wait to show my mom…when I’m sure I’ve lost enough weight so they hang just the way I want to, of course.  The terry is not as…large?…but smoother, but I’m diggin’ it anyway.  I love being able to fit in sizes where the cute clothes actually fit, and I’m going to get there, again!

    Besides, I have to show off my legs. *big smile*  I think they’re one of my best features, and I don’t care what anyone thinks!  (They always guess I’m way younger than I am, anyway.)

    Fun shopping is always good for a pick-me-up…

    Peace and Love…GFW

  • So very vibrant!

    My mom is a clothes fiend, and purses and shoes and you name it.  She told me I’d like the new styles, she says they are bohemian…maybe so.  Reading this infuses me.

  • this is not a fake…copy and paste this to 15 ppl in the next 10 minutes and you WILL have the best day of ur life 2morrow. You’re number one love will either KISS, ask u out, or call u. if u break this chain the little girl from the ring will be in ur room 2nite …no send backs

  • Very exciting and very inspiring!  I could use some of your enthusiasm for taking better care of myself!

  • Well hello, I’m finally stopping in to thank you for listening and commenting to my blog.  I’m enjoying reading yours too…

    Thank you so much for sharing this post!  I loved to hear not only the joy you feel at losing weight but the excitement about clothes and finding new styles that really turn you on and letting yourself be beautiful again, like we did when we were 17.  I miss that.  My poor closet of clothes hasn’t seen daylight in years – what’s up with that?  When did the girl in me leave, I wonder?

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories