September 22, 2009

  • There was a message on my machine yesterday (Mon) from a guy I swing dance with.  He’s probably the best dancer in Portland and the surrounding areas, in terms of his ability to lead and move left to right (ambidextrous with his moves).  But he, on many occasions, has consumed something that makes him obnoxious, and for this reason I shy away from him. 

    He also has a band.  Whether it was the unappealing band name or the hard-to-get-to venue or just bad timing, I have managed to miss the many, previous invitations to come hear him play.  Until tonight. 

    It was on my way home from the hospital.  It was at a farmer’s market and I love going to those so I thought I would be a good person and drop by.  I could hear his voice the minute I got out of the car.  He sounded good.  And whoever was playing slide guitar was fantastic. 

    I found the stage and after a while he saw me and said, “Hello, Prudence” into the mic.  I got a table outside, close to the band, and ordered some food.  Song after song was well-chosen and well-orchestrated, even without two of their band members.  His singing style was constrained yet strong, not sharp nor flat but he knew how to use the edges. 

    A young woman from another band dropped by to sing a couple songs and while she was singing he came over to my table.  Formally, this guy has struck me as kind of a dweeb.  I always avoid sitting with him because conversation is uncomfortable, either because of his weird personality or his aggressive behavior when he is under the influence. 

    Tonight he was in his element and he was proud.  I told him how impressed I was, twice, while I shook his hand.  I see him differently now.

Comments (2)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories