September 10, 2009

  • Homer

    I got back from my trip last night, late.  Two days in Homer, Alaska and two days in Seattle.  I’d never been to Alaska and was mesmerized by its beauty.  Homer was no place I’d even heard of but my sort of sister-in-law (they’re not married), chose the place for my Saturn return based on its proximity to the equator and the way the planets lined up there on Sept 5th. 

    As it happened, there was a full moon.  Which I guess was good timing as the ”North Node” has everything to do with the location of the moon.  What she hadn’t realized when she chose Homer was how key the North Node was to my chart.  I hardly know what she is talking about but I gather it couldn’t have been more auspicious for my next 28 years.

    I’m driving through wilderness, past my first moose, some 4 1/2 hours, two of them dark.  The moon shows me the way.  I drive clear out to the end of Homer Spit and park in front of an art gallery, taking the stairs around back, up to a long deck.  Directly below me water laps up on shore.  I find a note taped to the door of the apartment at the far end, addressed to me.  My half of the deck enjoys the only second story view as far south as I can see and I can’t see anybody from the north, so I have the place to myself. 

    I set my bags down and take in the night air.  Gazing out over the bay, it looks like a picture framed in rock.  Gargantuan, prehistoric looking bolders rise up out of this quiet water, the whole scene lit up by Mr Moon.  He’s smiling down on me and I feel like it’s just the two of us here in this private paradise.  I let myself in through the sliding glass door and find the key on the kitchen table.  It is quaint and clean but nothing special.  What’s special is outside. 

    I leave the window open so the first thing I hear Saturday morning is the rhythm of the tide.  It reminds me to pay attention to my own rhythm, my breath.  I get dressed and venture back down the stairs, surprised to find myself in the midst of a bustling little tourist town.  Cute, colorful shops line a boardwalk that stretches the whole length of the spit.  Everyone is on foot in fishing boots, just off or getting on a boat.  The coffee shop was across the street and the line long so I heard all their news.

    That’s where I learned about Halibut Cove.  I made the voyage over that afternoon.  It’s only accessible by boat; no cars allowed.  They have a five-star restaurant along with two galleries and a hike that takes you through the village of artists, up through the meadow, past the horses to the top of the ridge where you have a 360 degree view of million-dollar cabins already vacated for the summer.

    I made friends with a woman and her mother and after the hike we ate dinner together.  Later, as the boat was pulling out to go back, the moon crept out from behind these two massive rocks.  I am standing in the back, along with two lovebirds who have an impressive looking camera.  She squeals when she spots the moon rising and the rest of the boat takes notice.  Seriously, I’ve never seen a moon look like that, like it was solid gold.  All the way back we are transfixed.

    I walk the two blocks back to my deck and watch the moon some more, saying my thanks and sending my love, so appreciative for the sunny day and the beautiful bay.  What I was to do in Homer was focus on being grounded and calm, with the intention of manifesting the kind of peace and happiness I want to live in the next 28 years.  I sat with that peace ’til the stars came out. 

    What I found out the next day was that my mother passed while I was sitting on the deck, the very night of my Saturn return.  

Comments (7)

  • I’m just speechless at the moment.

  • You wove that story so beautifully and then smacked me hard with the last line. I’m sorry for your loss Prudy, may she rest in eternal peace…marilyn

  • i gasped as i read the last line. i am so sorry for your loss, but am grateful that she passed amidst the beauty you carried home with you. sometimes we get lucky and really get to see.

  • Wonderfully crafted .I wish for your mom true peace and for you the life you envision.

  • The moment that my father died, and he wouldn’t let us stay with him in ICU, where he had all life-support systems unplugged after battling for 6 months to survive with 4 tubes in him (breathing, eating, catheters), constant morphine drip, etc etc, I was resting in bed that afternoon, it was a dismal time, and had a powerful vision of him. He seemed all heart, love, massive love for us, and then he was gone, just like that. Seconds later I received the call from the hospital that he had passed away and I drove so fast I was there within ten minutes. He died with his eyes open. I like to think he faced the last challenge consciously.

    While my story is different, I do know that sense of peace that occurs when the suffering has finally ended. A time when the living and the dead meet, a friend said.

    The expansive opening to the universe, that sense of inner peace and fulfillment that night on the deck in Alaska was through the portal of your mother’s passing.

    Her gift.

    Your writing is beautiful.

    Condolences on the passing of your mother. xo

  • I wrote this two-ish years ago. Looking through old stuff for creative writing workshop. Enjoy:
    There once was a Xangan named Prudence
    to whom I thought I might be a nuisance.
    Engaging and kind,
    she jump-started my mind,
    and together we practice impudence.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories