July 13, 2009

  • You’re supposed to order lunch in the morning but no one was at the desk.  I went back to her room and she was actually eating some of the breakfast on her tray.  The aid came in and my mother introduced me as a friend of the family.

    I gave the aid a nervous look and explained I was a daughter.  I’m just going to start calling her Lois and hope that no family member finds me.  Anyway, Lois thinks about it for a moment and says, “Oh, yes, she’s my number three child.”

    I correct her, after another alarmed look at the aid.

    “No, I’m your firstborn.  Remember …..” –I go through the list, in order, using nicknames.

    “Well, if you are trying to eliminate your sister who spent all that time in Germany…”

    “I’m not trying to eliminate her, I’m just saying I was born in 1950.  When was she born?”

    More confusion. 

    She’s pissed now so I say I need to go play recorder and I’ll be back for lunch.

    “Suit yourself,” she quips.

Comments (2)

  • I can’t imagine this situation. I wonder if I would even try correcting her. How was recorder class?

  • It’s dark comedy but I would take the age reduction.

    I haven’t been around and need to catch up. Sending some of that internet love to you. Glad you are doing the recorder classes still and hope you are treating yourself well. I would have trouble going through this and would need a boost or three hundred if I had to.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories