August 31, 2005

  • I have been enjoying the comfort of my little Xanga family over the past year, and – My first year anniversary is coming up soon – I have come to feel secure in the knowledge that I can post whatever comes up, and you’ll still be here in the morning.  I sought you out or maybe you found me, I can’t remember which, but, however we came together, I feel safe with you.  I respect you and your writing and value your opinion.  And you all know how much I rely on your opinion as I work my way through these chapters.  Some of you suggest things that I change immediately and other times I like it that something sits funny with you.  I want it to.  But I need the feedback to know how it hits you.  One of the reasons you’re on my protected list is that you’re honest with me.


     


    So these last two days I woke up to a whole bunch of comments from strangers.  Wonderful strangers from what I can tell.  I rushed around to get a look at everyone and was thrilled.  Now, maybe I’ll never see any of these people again but maybe they’ll be reading this.  So, if you are I just want to say that I am going to get back to the book now, and that means I write protected.  And if you’re not used to going there, ask me how.  Someone once likened it to announcing a party and then not inviting everyone.  And I’m sooo not like that but when it comes to this book I feel protective about who reads it, at this point.  I need to maintain a level of comfort if I am to fully engage with the page. J  Give me a week to get to know you, and if I’ve subscribed I’ll put you on the list.  There are writers I look at and think Oh, God, I wouldn’t want them to see unfinished work and then there are those I almost plead with to look at my work.  You know how it is.  It’s one thing to find a good writer but it’s another thing to feel a connection.  I have been blessed to find both in this circle of friends.

Comments (17)

  • Hi, I am a new reader so if you don’t feel  comfortable , I understand, however if you do, I would love to read .
    Take care

    Peace and Love:)

  • Very nicely said and I am proud to know I am in that circle. :) so you are just at a year? I didn’t realize we started about the same time. Glad I found you-I think it was me. :)

  • I was smiling as I read this post. Thank you for including me in your “inner circle”. I feel quite proud :) And strangely enough, I was just thinking that same way about a few key Xangans of mine. I was contemplating shutting my site down due to some experiences but am approaching a year soon as well and hate to break that bond I have created with some. Anyway, I look forward to reading your continued feedback as well. Get busy with your next installment! *wink*  

  • So glad to be in your circle and it is nice that you are getting new hits. Bet it was that hometown honesty coming out that hooked them.

  • my hometown isn’t in nj! i grew up in upstate ny

  • RYC: Apple cider vinegar diluted in water changes the body chemistry from acid to alkali and your allergies will subside.  My ex husband had allergy shots for 9 years with no results but just 2 T morning and night gave him almost total relief and when it didn’t he just bumped up the amount of vinegar.  If you try it do get it at a health food store though the store type doesn’t work as well.

  • Wow…I never knew, and now I am in the circle.  Honored.

  • Be prepared for a wave…well probably a trickle, tomorrow.  My lead off will be your comments on the Panthers…unless some major news breaks

    None of my stuff is usually that preplanned…nine times out of ten i just riff off of the cover of the newspaper or some overnight comment.  While i was a wee one with only a decade’s experience in ’68…YUR on the scene account adds some veracity to what i said.  [Oops...guess like most my readers you underestimated my age]

    Xanga is usually my daily warm up before a day of James Joycing

  • Thank you very much . I look forward to reading. Take care and thanks again:)

    Peace and Love:)

  • And this is why I read you, reciprocated honesty, pure and simple:))

  • We love you!  RYC:  YOU ARE good company!!!

  • So come on over already and get to know me better.  You’re welcome any time.  I enjoyed reading this entry, and feel much the same way.

  • i haven’t had a new hit in two months == you never visit anymore == oh well, maybe the novelty has worn off = anyway, it’s weird, ydurp, but zack misses you = he’s having surreal experiences in the workplace these days ==

    all the best….it’s been a terrible summer for just about everyone i know…very happy the shadows are getting longer…

    zackfuller

  • I have loved reading your posts, and being in the circle for some time. Here I’d thought you’d been here longer than a year! Thank you! Write on.

  • sometimes in the wee (insomnia-filled) hours… I find myself thanking whatever divine power made xanga possible.

  • Xanga is all things to all bloggers, often the same one at different times. I’m glad you see a supportive crew, its a lovely, positive attitude. Me, I’m the one in the corner.

  • i truly don’t remember how we connected, but it was in winter and your first comment a little jewel sort of dropped in the middle of my day.  that i remember….

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories