August 18, 2005

Comments (16)

  • Not at all–loved it! Thank you!

  • Some of the words seem crafted in the same way.  It’s from a different perspective with a different spin, though, so it works.  Don’t cut it, but maybe reword it?  “Main,” when pronounced “man,” is French for Hand.  In my class, we read our poems aloud and it made more sense.  But yeah, there’s that double-meaning thing. 

  • yes…. but from a different point of view. would i include it? maybe, maybe not. i might cut the duplicates and weave the two scenes together. but again, it’s your own work. so you have to do what feels right to you.

  • Hi! I’m the editor of Wingspan Quarterly, an emerging literary magazine devoted to seeking out and publishing entertaining, evocative, and captivating writing. WQ is designed to bring great writing to real readers, and to give both new and experienced writers a fresh forum for their work. I set up a Xanga page with some submission information while I’m working on re-coding our website, so if you are interested — or know someone who might be — stop by and check us out. I’d love to hear from you with questions, ideas, and especially submissions.

    Thanks!
    K. H. Baker

  • I gleened that you had surgery but I wasn’t clear on to what extent.  My mom goes to an Eastern Medicine man that is originally from Belgium.  He works with pulse,face readings and divination.  You ask “What is my main physical problem “? then throw 3 pennies.  How they land is recorded like heads or tails then proceed three times to ask and throw.  The combinations are noted then he looks them up on a chart.  The chinese astrological chart that is.  He starts with your birthday then works from there.  He is so amazingly accurate it is scary.  I went with my mom the first time she had uterian cancer to listen so I could help her sort it out later.  This guy nailed my mom to the T on so many personality traits that I signed up for a few sessions myself.  From the chart they find out what part of the body is involved then you divinate to see what herb combinations will work best to alleviate the problem.  He is working with my daughter on her Heart,lungs and kidney problems and has brought her from almost dead to a fairly healthy person.

  • Meryl and Clint (or was it Redford?; I didn’t see it) are amazing people.  I hate to be so one-dimensional about the whole issue.  Young and ideal, I guess.  Thanks for tempering me.  I think the caffeine kick has leveled off, too, so I should be more moderate   Love you!

  • If you caught the attention of a lit mag, it’s all good. : )

  • I never feel as though others say too much. But I ALWAYS (notice blog use of all caps) feel as though I do. So carry on woman!

    jelly thongs:
    http://www.newport-news.com/shop/Product.asp?gpcatID=1914&pacatID=1915&subcatID=&catid=3187&superstyleID=196699&productindex=4&firstpagetypeid=&pageindex=0

  • RYC: No, actually I have not seen that movie. I just went to Burger King for the first time in years. Yikes. LOL.

  • There is already a continuing conversation between the women that is an undercurrent, or perhaps another current in this story… as long as you continue these reflective conversations where they share what’s going on, and we women have talks like this all the time don’t we, it’ll be fine… it’s harder when we read in chunks to remember that these two women have met and talked and supported each other already, this is a continuation of that…

    And the literary mag is a coup! Go for it….! xo

  • RYC: I get my nutritional information from being raised the way I was plus ongoing books.  Sometime in the 70′s when meat was so expensive I needed to watch every penny what with two small children and a stay at home mom so I just bought a book about food combining.  Diet for a Small Planet I believe it was called.  It wasn’t very easy to get the food that would be a complete protein but coming from the desert southwest Tucson I had grown up loving refried beans and corn tortillas which turned out to be very cheap to feed my growing family. 

    I love reading your posts so I started with  your  first posting.  Boy I want to stop to comment so many times when I identify with something you have written.  One such post included the description of the family eating at the Italian joint…Oh my god I was there wanting to throttle TIM with my barehands so he would stop the badgering he has always gotten away with in life…Just one of many times  in my life I have had the thought that when you hang or keep to company where you grow you just CAN’T stand to go back to the other side!! Thanks for posting and letting me share please do likewise as you are for sure enrichening my life with yours.  Marilyn

  • I can’t see the protected stuff!  WAAH!  Dangit…*sigh*  I must have fallen off the list.  Can you check?  I want back in! Please…

    RYC:  The WordWeb dictionary is one of the few things I don’t mind having.  There are no updates or popups.  To work it, you just highlight and click.  Makes it easy when my brain is tired and can’t remember whether the words recommend and accommodate have all those c’s and m’s.  (I had to replace recommend…lol!  I can never remember!)

    I love you, Pru…GFW

  • I read your site regularly, but often don’t leave individual comments– I find it hard to give meaningful feedback on snippets of an ongoing story. But I do read, and appreciate your writing.

  • RYC: have no fear.  My colds generally last about 10 days.  I have entered day 8 and I think I have turned the corner today.  Thanks for the concern.

  • RE: adding… of course. :) I am trying to move away from mostly-protected posts, but there is quite a bit of stuff in backlog that might be marginally worthwhile.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Categories